Independent Living Advocacy
promoting the empowerment of disabled people

Independent Living Advocacy Independent Living Advocacy Independent Living Advocacy Independent Living Advocacy

 

ILA promotes the empowerment of disabled people.

Empowerment is the process of supporting disabled people to take control for themselves.

Advocacy is speaking up for yourself or another person to secure rights, meet needs or support people to make informed choices.

Advocacy makes sure a person's voice is heard, that their needs are met and they get the services they want and need, that they know their rights and have information to make informed choices.    

ILA works within the Social Model of Disability and independent living principles. The Social Model of Disability is a model developed by disabled people themselves. The model looks at disability in terms of the barriers in society which stop disabled people from participating in society on equal terms with non-disabled people. Because we work within this model our service is open to any disabled person no matter what their impairment.

Our service is available free of charge to Service Users throughout Essex (excluding the unitary authorities of Southend on Sea and Thurrock).

Advocacy can be provided in other areas, but a charge  will be made for the Service  and is dependent upon Advocates being available to provide the Service.

We provide specialist services in connection with Personalization.

We assist people to employ their own Personal Assistants to help them live an Independent Life.

We support Clients in all aspects of becoming an Employer, with guidance through employment law, assistance with safely recruiting a Personal Assistant,  preparing contracts of Employment and assisting clients in resolving issues that may occur.

For those Clients that wish to enroll (Free of charge), we provide an on line discussion forum were members are able to exchange experiences and ask questions of one another.

To obtain our services for a client/friend/refer yourself you will need to create a referral on either of the websites below:

- www.ilaessex.com -    for a Cash Payment issue (click on 'ILA Referral' on the left-hand side)

- www.advocacyessex.co.uk -   for a formal issue

If you would prefer to discuss the issue prior to referring the client you can speak to 'Duty' on the telephone number listed below between the hours of 0900-1600.

Unfortunately, we do have a waiting list - the referrals are dealt with in order of priority so please give us as much information on the referral as possible.

If we feel we are unable to assist you/the client, we will endeavour to signpost you to an organisation who would be able to assist.

We also provide a service covering all aspects of independent living and further information can be found in our members area.

 

Please find below a list of contact details for our staff:

DIRECTORS

David Beer : 01376 534999 / 07717 307051 : dbeer@ilaessex.co.uk (Working Week Monday/Wednesday/Thursday)

Moira Rowland : 01376 534990 / 07771 803731 : mrowland@ilaessex.co.uk (Working Week Tuesday-Friday)

 

ADVISERS

Gabby Hobson : 01376 534986 / 07775 951756 : ghobson@ilaessex.co.uk

Lucy Wickens : 01376 534984 / 07717 307055 : lwickens@ilaessex.co.uk

Maxine Leader :  07717 307059 : mleader@ilaessex.co.uk (Working Week Monday, Tuesday & alternate Wednesdays)

Sally Lewis : 01376 534983 / 07919 215997 : slewis@ilaessex.co.uk

Sandie McQuaid : 01376 534985 / 07511 710477 : smcquaid@ilaessex.co.uk 

Sarah Osborne : 01376 534987 / 07919 215996 : sosborne@ilaessex.co.uk (Working Week Wednesday-Friday)

 

ADMIN SUPPORT

Barbara Piper : 01376 534981 : bpiper@ilaessex.co.uk

Jill Beer : 01376 534998 / 07717 307052 : jbeer@ilaessex.co.uk (Working Week Monday-Thursday)

Kelly Jackson : 01376 534982 : kjackson@ilaessex.co.uk

 

GENERAL ENQUIRIES : 01376 534980 : enquiries@ilaessex.co.uk